Gayoso, Ateneo banner men's football individual winners

Santino Honasan on May 07, 2017 07:30 PM
Gayoso, Ateneo banner men's football individual winners
MVP. Best Striker. UAAP Champion. It's safe to say that Ateneo's Jarvey Gayoso had a really good Season 79

To say that Ateneo's Jarvey Gayoso had 'one hell of a season' would be quite the understatement. 

Aside from leading the Blue Eagles to their seventh UAAP men's football crown in just his second year in the UAAP, the star sophomore striker grabbed a number of individual accolades to cap off a magical season. 

Gayoso, who scored the lone goal in Ateneo's championship win over Far Eastern University, finished as the season's Most Valuable Player. Gayoso was Ateneo's main offensive weapon throughout the season and also displayed his willingness and skill to be a playmaker for the league-leading Blue Eagles. 

The third-generation athlete also nabbed the season's Best Striker award, as he paced the high-scoring Ateneo offense with 12 goals converted in 13 matches played. 

A handful of Gayoso's teammates also brought home some individual hardware, as rookie keeper AJ Arcilla was named Best Goalkeeper, while Jordan Jarvis took home Rookie of the Year honors, and Jeremiah Rocha was the league's Best Defender. 

Graduating Far Eastern University star and former MVP Paolo Bugas was hailed as the league's best defender, while the Fair Play Award was given to De La Salle University. 

Gayoso, Arcilla, Rocha, Jarvis, and Bugas also bannered the season's Mythical XI, along with FEU's Rico Andes, UST's Darryl Regala, and DLSU's Noel Brago and Jed Diamante, and Ateneo's Enzo Ceniza. 

Latest News