Gayoso steers Ateneo back to UAAP men's football title

Santino Honasan on May 07, 2017 05:08 PM
Gayoso steers Ateneo back to UAAP men's football title
Season 79 MVP Jarvey Gayoso and the Ateneo Blue Eagles are once again kings of UAAP men's football

They wanted to do it for senior team captain Carlo Liay, and they did. 

Sunday afternoon at the Rizal Memorial Stadium, Ateneo de Manila captured the UAAP Season 79 men's football championship, besting Far Eastern University, 1-0. 

The two sides traded attempts early on, but it was league-leading goal scorer Jarvey Gayoso who struck first, giving Ateneo a 1-0 lead off a rebound goal in the 39th minute. 

The always-dangerous FEU side worked hard to try and level things in the second half, with good chances from skipper Val Jurao and sophomore striker Rico Andes, but could not convert. 

Ateneo wins their seventh men's football crown, and their first since Season 75. Liay, who was the Season 75 rookie of the year, begins and ends his UAAP career as a champion.

Latest News