Lady Archers dominate women's football individual awards

Santino Honasan on May 07, 2017 11:31 PM
Lady Archers dominate women's football individual awards
A handful of this season's individual awardees represented the green and white.

UAAP Season 79 saw the De La Salle women's football team complete a rare "perfect season" where in the team goes unbeaten and eventually takes the tournament championship. 

Aside from that, a handful of the ladies from Taft Avenue also get to bring home some personal awards, led by season Most Valuable Player Kyla Inquig, who played a key role in the Lady Archers' 9-0 championship season. 

DLSU's graduating team captain Inna Palacios takes home Best Goalkeeper honors, while teammate Kyra Dimaandal, who led the season in scoring, takes home the Best Striker award. 

La Salle's sophomore sensation Sara Castañeda was named the season's Best Midfielder, while teammate Regine Metillo was recognized as the season's Best Defender. 

Season 79's Rookie of the Year award went to University of Santo Tomas' Mary Indac. 

Six of the season's Mythical XI team also represented the green and white, as Palacios, Dimaandal, Metillo, Mariel Tejada Castañeda, and Irish Navaja join UST's Charisa Lemoran, Hazel Lustan, and Ira Ilan, and Ateneo's Cam Rodriguez and Isay Sabio. 

Latest News