New champions to be crowned in UAAP men's and women's football

Santino Honasan on May 07, 2017 12:25 PM
New champions to be crowned in UAAP men's, women's football
Ateneo and FEU battle in the men's football finals, while De La Salle and UST face off in the women's football finale.

MATCHES on SUNDAY (Rizal Memorial Football Stadium)

3:00 PM - Ateneo vs. FEU (Men's Final)

6:00 PM - DLSU vs. UST (Women's Final)


Last season, University of the Philippines reigned supreme in both the men's and women's division, but this year was a drastically different story for the Diliman-based teams however, as neither the men's or women's teams were able to reach the tournament finale.

With that being said, new UAAP football champions are set to be crowned, Sunday afternoon at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium. 

In the women's division, unbeaten De La Salle University faces second-seeded University of Santo Tomas. 

DLSU dominated the season, going perfect in the eliminations, which earned them an automatic finals berth. Led by top scorer Kyra Dimaandal, skipper-keeper Inna Palacios, and key players such as Nicole Andaya and super sophomore Sara Castañeda, the Lady Archer booters are hoping to avoid a result similar to last season wherein they were heavily favored in the finals before getting stunned by UP. 

Arguably the most surprising team of the women's tournament this season were the UST Tigresses. After finishing last season at the bottom of the standings, the Espanya-based squad, led by high-scoring Charisa Lemoran, skyrocketed into the second seed. In the knockout match against Ateneo, UST came back from being down 3-2 at halftime to take a 5-4 win, setting up a finals showdown against De La Salle. 

The Lady Archers will be trying for their first women's football title since Season 72, while the Tigresses shoot for their first championship since Season 74.

De La Salle and UST meet at 6:00 PM


In the men's division, league-leading Ateneo de Manila University will take on third-seeded Far Eastern University.

All season long, Ateneo were on top of the men's standings, winning their six matches and finishing with a tournament-best 11-2-1 slate. In the semifinals, they survived a late-game rally by UST off a two-goal performance from star sophomore Jarvey Gayoso. Along with senior skipper Carlo Liay and a batch of talented rookies, the Blue Eagles attempt to bring the championship back to Katipunan and end a three-year title drought. 

From missing out on the Final Four a season ago, Tamaraws have made a huge charge back, and are now once again in prime position to reclaim the men's football throne. Graduating former MVP Paolo Bugas along with sophomores Rico Andes and team captain Val Jurao have done a masterful job of leading the former back-to-back champions into their seventh finals appearance since Season 64. With one last game left, they hope to bring FEU it's third men's footbal title in the last four years. 

Ateneo and FEU battle at 3:00 PM. 


Watch the men's final between Ateneo and FEU LIVE at 3:00 PM on S+A channel 23, S+A HD channel 166, and livestreaming on 

Watch the women's final between DLSU and UST LIVE at 6:00 PM via livestreaming on Catch the telecast on Monday, May 8th at 3:00 PM on S+A channel 23

Latest News