UAAP greats inspire current crop of players to Go for Great

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Sep 09, 2017 02:50 PM
UAAP greats inspire current crop of players to Go for Great
MONUMENTAL. The UAAP wants nothing more than continued greatness as it begins its eighth decade.

In its 80-year existence, the UAAP has seen its fair share of greats and their greatness.

And as the foremost collegiate league looks back to its greats of the past, it is also looking to continue the greatness from now and into the future.

“We just hope that, in this little way, we could still inspire a lot of players that they can get to many places through sports,” Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano said after the opening ceremonies on Saturday at the MOA Arena.

For Season 80, the UAAP is challenging its current student-athletes to do nothing short of maximizing their potential. “Let us go for great,” Alba said.

To help them to do so, the league called upon and then celebrated the former standouts and now legends who have made the league great for eight decades now such as Cayetano who played volleyball for University of the Philippines.

Among those who were also recognized were Ewon Arayi, Queeny Sabobo, and Ana Santiago of Adamson University; Marck Espejo, Jessie Lacuna, Alyssa Valdez, and Enrico Villanueva of Ateneo de Manila University; Marielle Benitez, Ian Lariba, and Marck Espejo of De La Salle University; Afril Bernardino, Danny Ildefonso, Ray Parks Jr., and Tine Patrimonio of National University;

Rolando Canlas of University of the East; Joe Lipa, Ronnie Magsanoc, Rannie Ortega, and Benjie Paras of UP; Dylan Ababou, Mark Alfafara, and Aric Del Rosario of University of Sto. Tomas; and Mac Belo, Rachel Anne Daquis, Janelle Frayna, RR Garcia, Allana Lim, Vic Pablo, Terrence Romeo, and Maristella Torres of Far Eastern University.

The UAAP greats marched with the current student-athletes to the cheers of the crowd.

And after all eight member-schools made the rounds, Alba officially opened the monumental season. “Let the games begin,” he expressed.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News