Lady Paddlers dedicate 4-peat to Lariba

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 10, 2017 02:55 PM
Lady Paddlers dedicate 4-peat to Lariba
De La Salle University completed a dramatic four-peat in 80th UAAP women's table tennis.

De La Salle University’s women's four-peat is for Ian Lariba.       

The Lady Paddlers needed three games to beat University of Santo Tomas and remain in the throne Monday night in the UAAP Season 80 table tennis tournament at the UP CHK Gym.       

After dropping the championship opener, 2-3, that ended a 14-game winning run, La Salle was able to bounce back in the next two to beat the Tigresses via identical 3-1 scores to win the series.       

In the men's division, National University won its first-ever men's title, ending UST's reign with a 3-1 victory in the Finals decider to annex the crown.       

Emy Rose Dael, who took over from Lariba, won her second straight MVP award, while giving Jamaica Sy and Mardeline Carreon a grand send-off to their collegiate careers.              

DLSU, which clinched its fifth women's championship in the last six years, drew inspiration for this season's campaign from Lariba, who was diagnosed with Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) last May and is still recovering in the hospital.       

Rio Olympian Lariba was instrumental for the Lady Paddlers' dynasty and was a part of coaching staff last season.               

Ateneo's Joana Chen bagged the Rookie of the Year honors.        

NU defeated UST, 3-2, in the opener for the Tigers got a lifeline after scoring a 3-2 win Game 2.       

John Misal of the Bulldogs was named the season MVP.       

It was a double celebration for NU as it boy's team won the back-to-back championship after blanking UST in the do-or-die match, 3-0, with Stephen John Deiz emerging as MVP.       

UST's girls’ team, meanwhile, completed a perfect season capped by a 3-1 conquest of De La Salle-Zobel.

Latest News