Bulldogs complete badminton 4-peat

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 15, 2017 02:27 PM
Bulldogs complete badminton 4-peat
Make it four straight UAAP men's badminton titles for National University

National University annexed its fourth consecutive men's crown with a 3-0 win over University of the Philippines in the UAAP Season 80 badminton tournament Sunday at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.   

Registering another perfect season with their 35th straight win, the Bulldogs are now level with the Fighting Maroons for the most number of championships with five.    

Tournament MVP Alvin Morada and Alem Palmares sealed the crown for NU with a 21-17, 21-14 conquest of JM Bernardo and CK Clemente in the first doubles.    

Morada also won his second singles match against Vinci Manuel, 21-12, 21-16, right after Mike Minuluan opened the tie with a come-from-behind 13-21, 21-17, 21-10 victory over Bernardo.    

No one is graduating after this tournament, as last year's MVP Leeward Pedrosa will be back next season to banner the Bulldogs' foray for another crown.       

"Siguro, mas kakayanin namin kasi mas malakas kami next year. Tingin namin kaya pa," said the 20-year old Morada.                 

UP's Carmelo Joseph Lunod Jr. went home with the Rookie of the Year plum. 

Latest News