Lady Shuttlers end 8-year title drought

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 21, 2017 06:09 PM
Lady Shuttlers end 8-year title drought
De La Salle University knocked University of the Philippines off the throne in UAAP women's badminton.

De La Salle University captured its first women's title in eight years with a 3-2 conquest of University of the Philippines Saturday in the 80th UAAP badminton tournament.     

Nicole Albo easily disposed Mary Ann Marañon, 21-10, in the deciding singles to help the Lady Shuttlers capture the best-of-three series, 2-1, at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.     

Now the second winningest team in the sport, De La Salle annexed its fifth title overall - and the first since 2009.     

Poca Alcala defeated Arianne Rivera, 20-22, 18-21, in the opening singles to put the Lady Maroons ahead.     

Iyah Sevilla turned back Marina Caculitan, 20-22, 21-12, 21-18, in the second doubles to allow the Lady Shuttlers to level.

De La Salle then took the upper hand, as Isay Leonardo and Albo outlasted Alcala and Jessie Francisco, 21-23, 21-17, 21-16, in the first doubles.

Lea Inlayo and Mary Ann Marañon swept Sevilla and Lindsay Tercias, 21-16, 21-10, in the second doubles to give UP a lifeline.       

The defeat ended the Lady Maroons' three-year reign.        

UP, which entered the title round undefeated, lost the opener before tying the series last Thursday with a 3-1 victory. 

Latest News