NU to set the standard as UP returns to UAAP Cheerdance

NU to set the standard as UP returns to UAAP Cheerdance
STANDARD. The NU Pep Squad will go all-out for a record-tying five-peat in the UAAP Cheerdance Competition.

The NU Pep Squad will be setting the standard as it guns for a record-tying fifth consecutive championship in the UAAP 80 Cheerdance Competition.

NU Pep will be performing first in the event that will once again have a complete cast of characters on December 2 at the MOA Arena.

Champions from 2013 to 2016, the squad from Sampaloc will go all-out for another title that would put them on even ground with the UST Salinggawi Dance Troupe which accomplished an unprecedented five-peat from 2002 to 2006.

Of course, all of the grace in the Cheerdance Competition will be on S+A, S+A HD, and

Out to thwart them, however, is the returning UP Pep Squad which wants nothing more than to reclaim the crown it last wore in 2012.

UP did not participate in the 2016 Cheerdance Competition as a form of protest.

Then, they were still adamant that the results of the 2015 edition of the event “did not genuinely reflect adherence to the competition guidelines and criteria.”

In 2015, the NU Pep Squad reigned supreme with a total score of 668. UST then snatched second-place with 651.5 points while the Diliman-based squad ranked third with 610.5 points.

Now, the UP Pep Squad is determined to come back with a vengeance.

Also hoping to make more noise is last year’s second-placer FEU Cheering Squad and third-placer Adamson Pep Squad.

Here is the full order of performances in the 2017 Cheerdance Competition.

1 – NU Pep Squad

2 – DLSU Animo Squad

3 – Adamson Pep Squad

4 – FEU Cheering Squad

5 – UE Pep Squad

6 – UP Pep Squad

7 – UST Salinggawi Dance Troupe

8 – Ateneo Blue Babble Battalion


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News