UAAP volleyball: Belen wins MVP in girls division, Calado bags top individual award in boys

Mark Escarlote on Dec 01, 2017 01:29 PM
Belen wins MVP in girls volleyball, Calado in boys division
National University's Mhicaela belen and Far Eastern U-Diliman's Mark Calado bagged the girls and boys volleyball Most Valuable Player awards, respectively.

Mhicaela Belen of Nazareth School of National University bagged the 80th UAAP girls volleyball tournament Most Valuable Player award.

Belen’s performance and effort in the elimination round outshine other notable names including teammate Faith Nisperos, last year’s top individual award winner, and fan-favorite Eya Laure of University of Sto. Tomas.

This is the third time in four years that a Bullpup won the award after Nisperos pocketed the citation in Season 77 and 79.

Nisperos was named 1st Best Outside Hitter while teammates Joyme Cagande and Alyssa Solomon took the Best Setter and Rookie of the Year awards, respectively.

Laure got the Best Opposite Spiker award, also in the list of winners were UST’s Imee Hernandez (1st Best Middle Blocker) and Ma. Bernadette Pepito (Best Libero), Angel Carmino of De La Salle-Zobel (2nd Best Outside Hitter) and Justine Jazareno (Best Server) and Alexis Miner of Far Eastern U-Diliman (2nd Best Middle Blocker),

FEU-Diliman’s Mark Calado collected the MVP and Best Outside Hitter awards in the boys division while CJ Segui of UST was named Rookie of the Year.

Here’s the complete list of awardees:



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News