UAAP Season 80 Softball: Adamson shuts down UST to win eighth-straight championship

ABS-CBN Sports on Mar 20, 2018 01:43 PM
UAAP 80 Softball: Adamson shuts down UST to complete 8-peat
EIGHT-PEAT! Congratulations to the Adamson Lady Falcons Softball team!

Adamson University summoned its strength in hitting to beat University of Santo Tomas, 6-0, and complete an eight-peat in the UAAP Season 80 softball tournament at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium, Tuesday.

The Tigresses could not get their game going in the Finals decider, as the Lady Falcons peppered them with 10 hits.

"Ini-expect ko close game. Pero hindi naging close game. Nagtama talaga sila," said Adamson University coach Ana Santiago.

The now 17-time champion Lady Falcons drew the best from Lyca Basa and Edna Severino were named co-Finals MVP in winning the best-of-three series, 2-1.

Basa retired five batters while allowing only three hits, while Severino delivered RBIs in the third and fifth inning, and hit a perfect for 4-of-4.      

Adamson University also became the first team to sweep the softball and baseball championships, since the San Marcelino-based school also did it in the 2008-09 season.

"Before the season, hindi kami nag-uusap ni (baseball) coach (Orlando) Binarao about the double championship. Noong nakita namin yung possibility na ganoon, ang sabi namin, sino kaya ang maauna sa amin," said Santiago.

"Noong nauna siya, sabi ko, pipilitin namin na masundan kayo. Kayo (baseball team) naman ang magsisilbing inspiration para makuha ang championship game na ito."           

The comeback was real for the Lady Falcons, who never lost their desire despite losing the Finals opener. 

Adamson University's Jeanette Rusia was named the season MVP had had the Most Homeruns with four aside from winning the Most RBIs honors, while her teammates Nicole Padasas and Severino bagged the Best Hitter and Most Stolen Bases awards, respectively.

Antolihao, whom Santiago said is the Philippines' No. 1 not only in the collegiate ranks, ended her stint with UST as Best Pitcher, while University of the East's Aimee Salvador went home with the Best Slugger award. Ateneo's Ingrid Laurel claimed the Rookie of the Year honors. 




                         R   H   E

AdU 001 023 0  6  10   0

UST 000 000 0  0    3    4

Latest News