UAAP Volleyball: MVPs Jaja Santiago, Marck Espejo banner individual awards for Season 80

Philip Matel on Apr 30, 2018 03:04 PM
MVPs Jaja Santiago, Marck Espejo banner individual awards
Marck Espejo and Jaja Santiago nab the MVP awards of the men's and women's volleyball tournaments.

Jaja Santiago won her first UAAP Women's Volleyball tournament MVP while Marck Espejo nabbed his fifth straight MVP plum as the league announced the individual winners for the 80th season of the biggest collegiate league in the country Monday morning. 

The graduating Santiago led the NU Lady Bulldogs to another Final Four appearance, but were dispatched by DLSU in straight sets in the first game.

Espejo meanwhile had rewritten the record books with a 39-point explosion in the eliminations followed by a 55-point explosion against the FEU Tamaraws in a do-or-die Final Four game, both league records. 

The opposite spiker Espejo joins the ranks of Luica Dacanay of women's swimming and John Paul Gomez of men's chess as the only individuals to be named MVP in each of their five playing seasons.

Espejo was also named Best Scorer in the men's division, tallying a total of 317 points, while UST Golden Tigress Sisi Rondina earned Best Scorer honors in the women's division, scoring 296 points in the elimination round. 

MVPs Santiago and Espejo were also given the Best Spiker award in their respective divisions, with Espejo connecting on 50.1 percent of his hits, while Santiago had a success rate of 41.76 percent.  

FEU Lady Tamaraw Ced Domingo and UST Growling Tiger Jayvee Sumagaysay were both named the Best Blockers, norming 0.73, and 0.78 blocks per set, respectively. 

DLSU Lady Spiker Desiree Cheng and Espejo meanwhile were named the Best Servers of the 14-game elimination round, averaging 0.66 and 0.48 service aces per set, respectively. 

Liberos Kath Arado of the UE Lady Red Warriors and Jopet Movido of the La Salle Green Spikers were named Best Diggers in their respective fields, averaging 6.72 and 4.27 excellent digs per set, respectively.

Ateneo claimed Best Setter Awards in both the women's and men's division, as Lady Eagle Deanna Wong and Blue Eagle Ish Polvorosa claimed the honors, with Wong averaging 8.54 excellent sets per set, while Polvorosa normed 10.74.

This is Polvorosa's fifth-straight Best Setter award. 

FEU Tamaraw Rikko Marmeto and UE Lady Warrior Arado meanwhile were named Best Receivers. Arado had an efficiency of 53.07 percent in her digs while Marmeto had an efficiency of 68.80 percent.

Ateneo Blue Eagle Ariel Morado Jr., and UST Golden Tigress Milena Alessandrini meanwhile were named Rookies of the Year.

The awards will be given at 3:15 p.m. Wednesday, shortly before the start of Game 2 of the Women's Volleyball Finals between three-peat seeking DLSU Lady Spikers and 29-time champions FEU Lady Tamaraws.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @philipptionary


Latest News