Kobe Paras makes his UP debut in first-ever UAAP 1-on-1

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Aug 16, 2018 02:29 PM
Kobe Paras makes his UP debut in first-ever UAAP 1-on-1
(Photo courtesy of UPMBT Twitter)

Kobe Paras is all set to make his UAAP debut in the first-ever Last One Standing 1-on-1 Hoop Challenge.

The Gilas cadet will be showcasing all his skills for the first time in a University of the Philippines uniform in the competition scheduled on Friday at the SM MOA Atrium.

Challenging Paras will be Adamson University’s Ivan Maata, Ateneo de Manila University’s QJ Banzon, De La Salle University’s Jordan Bartlett, Far Eastern University’s Cade Flores, National University’s Robert Minerva, University of the East’s Jason Strait and University of Sto. Tomas’ Zachy Huang.

Strait replaced Alvin Pasaol who was the initial representative for the Red Warriors.

The action will be on livestream and on YouTube Live starting at 10:00 AM.

The tournament will have a single round robin format with the top two players in each group advancing to the semifinals. The winners there will then move on to the Finals where the Last One Standing will be determined.

“Last One Standing is going to be fun and exciting. 1-on-1 is the best showcase for a player’s skills and smarts,” event director Eric Altamirano said.

In the Three-Point Shootout, Soaring Falcons’ top gun Jerrick Ahanmisi is the odds-on favorite.

Competing with him are Blue Eagle Jolo Mendoza, Green Archer Aaron Waban, Tamaraw Travis Mantua, Bulldog Migs Oczon, Red Warrior Jan Sobrevega, Fighting Maroon Allan Madrigal, and Growling Tiger Ken Zamora.

A Slam Dunk Contest will also be a highlight of the day with high-flying Paras and Tyrus Hill (La Salle) pitted against Ivan Maata (Adamson), Matthew Daves (Ateneo), Aaron Davis (FEU), Daniel Chatman (NU), and Soulemane Chabi Yo (UST).

The Skills Challenge will then be disputed by Soaring Falcon Jerom Lastimosa, Blue Eagle Nathan Chan, Green Archer Donn Lim, Tamaraw James Tempra, Bulldog Daniel Atienza, Red Warrior Brian Lacap, Fighting Maroon Enzo Battad, and Growling Tiger Brent Paraiso.

Meanwhile, the Women’s 1-on-1 Tournament will be comprised by Adamson’s Nathalia Prado, Ateneo’s Jhazmin Joson, La Salle’s Rossini Espinas, FEU’s Princess Jumuad, NU’s Ria Nabalan, UE’s Cristine Cortizano, UP’s Noella Cruz, and UST’s Elondra Rivera.

This is the first time that the league will have a preseason event of the sort courtesy of the efforts of host school NU in partnership with SM Supermalls.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News