UAAP: NU begins bid for 5th straight badminton crown; DLSU eyes back-to-back

ABS-CBN Sports on Sep 22, 2018 01:08 PM
UAAP Badminton: NU eyes 5th straight title
National University guns for a fifth straight UAAP men's badminton crown.
National University sets its sights for a fifth straight men's championship while De La Salle eyes a second consecutive women's crown as the UAAP Season 81 badminton tournament opens Monday at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

The Bulldogs and Lady Shuttlers drew opening day byes and will see action on Thursday.

NU takes on Ateneo at 8 a.m.  In the women's session at 1 p.m., De La Salle tackles with Ateneo .

Starring last season's MVP Alvin Morada, the Bulldogs, undefeated in 35 ties, will parade an intact roster with former MVP Leeward Pedrosa returning, boosting the Bustillos-based squad's bid for another crown.   

Reigning MVP Nicole Albo will banner the Lady Shuttlers' quest to remain in the throne.

Hostilities will actually begin Monday with the men's ties at 8 a.m., with last year's runner-up University of the Philippines taking on Adamson University, Ateneo battling University of the East and University of Santo Tomas playing De La Salle.

Women's ties at 1 p.m. will feature former champion UP facing UST, Ateneo crossing paths with UE, and NU pitting Adamson University.

Determined to achieve a breakthrough championship, the Lady Bulldogs will unveil the country's top player in Sarah Joy Barredo to challenge the Lady Shuttlers and the Lady Maroons.


Latest News