Rondina achieves fourth UAAP Beach Volleyball elims sweep

Danine Cruz on Oct 05, 2018 06:39 PM
Rondina achieves fourth UAAP Beach Volleyball elims sweep
Reaching her fourth sweep of her UAAP beach volleyball career, Sisi Rondina still showed no signs of relaxing.

Sisi Rondina and Blove Barbon's beach volleyball domination in UAAP Season 81 resulted to a sweep of the elimination round and they are just waiting for their opponent in the championship round on Sunday.

This is Rondina's fourth time to achieve a sweep and frankly, in her beach volleyball career, it has become a normal occurence. With her shiftiness and sharp power hits on the court, topped off by her natural spunk and attitude, Rondina made playing on the sands look easy in her five years in the UAAP. But somehow, she can set this season apart from the others.

"'Di katulad ng dati na medyo kaba lang. Ngayon parang may halong emosyon na. Ngayon, parang iniisip ko na na na-sisink in ko siguro yung last [season] ko na ito," said the graduating player.

So far, Rondina already has three beach volleyball championships and MVP awards from Seasons 77, 79, 80. With how their run is going this Season 81, not dropping a single set and dominating every game, she might just be en route to bagging another set of accolades.

Regardless of her status and reputation on the sands, the always fiery athlete showed no signs of relaxing. In fact, Rondina talked to the media after her last game of the eliminations with the same intensity she had on her first game.

When asked about their upcoming championship series, she had this to say.

"Di pa naman kami panalo kasi meron pang finals. Dapat magkaisa kami na dapat todohan na natin, na tayo ang mauna at kung kailangan namin bumanat, banat na syempre finals na pinaguusapan," she said.

As a bonus for sweeping the eliminations, UST will have a day off on Saturday while the De La Salle Lady Spikers, NU Lady Bulldogs, and UP Lady Maroons will figure in matches to find out who will take on the Tigresses in the best-of-three finals on Sunday, October 7.

Latest News