Ateneo back on top of UAAP women's badminton after 5 years

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 12, 2018 05:29 PM
Ateneo back on top of UAAP women's badminton after 5 years
The Lady Eagles last ruled the UAAP women's badminton tournament in 2013.

Ateneo de Manila University capped a Cinderella run by annexing its fourth women's title - and the first in five years - with a 3-0 conquest of UP Friday at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

Chanelle Lunod took 79 minutes to beat Poca Alcala, 21-19, 14-21, 21-16, in the first singles before the Lady Eagles got the needed buffer after Samantha Ramos rallied from a set down to dispose Jessie Francisco, 16-21, 21-17, 21-16, in the second singles.

Lunod and Geva de Vera, who were later named co-tournament MVPs, dominated Leah Inlayo and Mary Ann Marañon, 21-13, 21-8, in the first doubles to seal the deal for Ateneo.

In the Finals opener, the Lady Eagles stunned the Lady Maroons, 3-2.

Before sweeping top-ranked UP, Ateneo overcame twice-to-beat NU in the Final Four to make it to the Finals after missing the bus last year.

Prior to winning this one, the Lady Eagles last ruled in 2013 behind Rookie-MVP Jana de Vera, Geva's sister.

Sarah Joy Barredo of the Lady Bulldogs was named top rookie.

Latest News