NU sweeps UP, complete men's 5-peat in UAAP Season 81 badminton

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 12, 2018 01:58 PM
NU sweeps UP, complete men's 5-peat in UAAP 81 badminton
National University completes a 5-peat in UAAP men's badminton.
National University became the most successful men's program following a 3-0 romp of University of the Philippines Friday in the UAAP Season 81 badminton tournament.

The Bulldogs, who nipped the Fighting Maroons, 3-2, in last Wednesday's Finals opener, completed their fifth straight perfect season, extending their streak to 43 ties dating back from 2014.

"Maganda ang team bonding din namin. This is my playing final year so itinodo ko na para makuha ko yung goal na five-peat. Ang panalong ito ay para sa National University," said Mike Minuluan, one of the five graduating players who claimed the season MVP honors.

"Tulungan lang. Teamwork lang," he added.

The Bulldogs have won six championships overall in the last seven seasons.

Ros Lee Pedrosa carved out a 21-17, 21-14 win over JM Bernardo in the opening singles before Minuluan bested Michael Clemente, 21-12, 21-14, in the second singles to put NU ahead.

Alvin Morada and Alem Palmares then sealed the title for the Bulldogs by prevailing over Betong Pineda and Harvey Tungul, 21-15, 21-17, in the first doubles.

Among the graduating NU standouts who are part of this dynasty are Morada and Pedrosa, who were previous MVP winners.

Kyle Legaspi, who carried UP to its second straight Finals appearance by winning the deciding singles in their step-ladder duel with Ateneo, was named the Rookie of the Year.


Latest News