For first time since 2013, Grace Irebu takes UAAP Women's MVP away from NU

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Nov 19, 2018 02:08 PM
Grace Irebu takes UAAP Women's MVP away from NU
Grace Irebu is the first non-NU Lady Bulldog to win MVP in five years

Both the MVP and the Rookie of the Year in the UAAP 81 Women’s Basketball Tournament hails from University of Sto. Tomas.

The Tigresses’ Congolese big Grace Irebu towered over the competition to stake claim as the top individual player in the season.

Averaging 18.5 points, 13.9 rebounds, 2.8 blocks, 1.4 assists, and 1.0 steals through the tournament, she wasted no time in proving to be a game-changer for UST which remains alive and kicking.

Those numbers accumulated for her 80.57 Statistical Points (SPs) – just enough to beat out runner-up Jack Danielle Animam who had 79.71 SPs.

Animam had per game counts of 14.8 points, 13.2 rebounds, 2.4 assists, 2.1 blocks, and 1.2 steals all while still showing the way to an elimination round sweep for National University – their fifth in a row.

Those numbers just fell short for her to retain the MVP award, however, and for the first time in five years, the MVP is not a Lady Bulldog.

Before Irebu, Camille Sambile of Far Eastern University was the last non-NU player to be hailed as the top individual player back in 2013.

Rounding out this year’s Mythical Team are Sai Larosa of UST, Nathalie Prado of Adamson University, and Clare Castro of FEU.

Alongside Eribu as MVP, the Tigresses are also set to have another awardee in Rookie of the Year Tantoy Ferrer.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News