UAAP: UP has its first MVP in 32 years in Bright Akhuetie

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Nov 19, 2018 08:54 AM
UAAP: UP has its first MVP in 32 years in Bright Akhuetie
Bright Akhuetie paced the MVP raced all throughout UAAP 81

The UAAP 81 Men’s Basketball Tournament continues to be a historic one for the University of the Philippines.

Not even a week after ending its 21-year playoff drought, Bright Akhuetie has been hailed as the MVP – the first time since 1986 that a Fighting Maroon has done so. Eric Altamirano was named Finals MVP when State U last won the title in 1986 (Editor's Note: There were no individual season awards in 1986. Fort Acuna was the last UP player to win the Season MVP award back in 1969).

The Nigerian powerhouse has been the MVP leader all throughout the tournament and ends the elimination round with per game counts of 18.9 points, 14.6 rebounds, 2.8 assists, and 1.1 steals in just his first season.

That was more than enough for him to accumulate 82.50 Statistical Points (SPs) and more than enough to for him to have a six-point edge over his closest competitor.

That turned out to be another first-year big man in Ateneo de Manila University’s Angelo Kouame who had 76.21 SPs built on averages of 14.4 points, 13.6 rebounds, and 3.2 blocks.

Due to a league rule that states that only one foreign student-athlete can be included, Kouame will also not be making the Mythical Team.

Instead, the Mythical selections are Akhuetie, UP teammate Juan Gomez de Liano, University of the East’s Alvin Pasaol, De La Salle University’s Justine Baltazar, and Adamson University’s Jerrick Ahanmisi.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News