UAAP Season 81: Bulldogs open title repeat bid

Mark Escarlote on Feb 15, 2019 07:22 PM
UAAP Season 81: Bulldogs open title repeat bid
Bryan Bagunas and libero Ricky Marcos will try to lead National University's title defense as the Bulldogs open the UAAP Season 81 men's volleyball tournament against Far Eastern University.

Defending champion National University gets a baptism of fire in an early clash with another top contender in Far Eastern University as the UAAP Season 81 men’s volleyball tournament opens Saturday at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Game time is at 10:00 a.m. and will air live on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166, LIGA SkyCable Channel 86, LIGA HD SkyCable Channel 183, iWant and via livestream.

The Bulldogs dragged the Marck Espejo-led Ateneo de Manila University off the throne and their three-year reign last year and are coming off a historic gold medal conquest in the 2018 ASEAN University Games in Myanmar.

Its pre-season romp, which includes a title conquest in the Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference, gave NU a huge morale boost heading to its mission of a back-to-back UAAP crown.

The Bulldogs parade an intact core led by power-hitting Bryan Bagunas.  he King Bulldog will be backed by grizzled veterans Kim Malabunga, Madzlan Gampong, James Natividad and Ricky Marcos.

They will face a determined Tamaraws side bannered by JP Bugaoan, Jude Garcia, Redijohn Paler, Richard Solis, Owen Suarez and Peter Quiel.

FEU came up short of a Finals appearance after squandering a twice-to-beat advantage in the semifinals against the Blue Eagles.

Meanwhile, University of the Philippines and University of the East clash in the season’s curtain-raiser at 8:00 a.m. It will be available on iWant and via livestream



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News