UAAP Season 81: Bulldogs continue romp, win fourth in a row

Mark Escarlote on Mar 09, 2019 01:10 PM
UAAP Season 81: Bulldogs continue romp, win fourth in a row
Bryan Bagunas led National University to its fourth straight win.

What was expected to be a shootout between two of the most explosive teams in the field turned out to be a one-sided affair as defending champion National University silenced University of Sto. Tomas, 25-18, 25-18, 25-21, Saturday in the UAAP Season 81 men’s volleyball tournament at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Byan Bagunas’ three-game, 20-plus points run came to an end but his 14 markers was enough to power the Bulldogs to their fourth straight win to move up to solo second place with 4-1 slate behind tormentor Far Eastern University (4-0).

The open spiker hammered all of his 14 points off kills while Angelo Almendras finished with 12 markers anchored on 11 attacks and added seven excellent receptions for NU, which uncorked 44 spike points behind rookie setter Joshua Retamar’s 28 excellent sets.

Skipper Francis Saura had 10 points while Kim Malabunga added nine markers for the Bulldogs, who handed the Tigers their third loss in six games.  

League-leading scorer Joshua Umandal had a quiet 13-point outing for the Espana-based squad, which gave away 23 points off miscues. Jayvee Sumagaysay and Manuel Medina posted eight markers each.

Meanwhile, De La Salle University got back on the winning track after taking down University of the East, 25-14, 25-10, 23-25, 22-25, 15-13, in the curtain-raiser.

Cris Dumago led three other Green Spikers in double figures with 17 points built on 13 kills, three kill block and an ace to help DLSU cop its second win in six games.

Billie Anima had 16 markers while Kiefer Reyes and Geraint Bacon posted 14 and 13 points, respectively, for DLSU.

Clifford Inoferio had 16 points, Geric Ortega got 12 while Noel Alba posted 10 markers for the Red Warriors, who dropped to 1-5 mark.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles


Latest News