UAAP Season 81 lawn tennis: NU reclaims throne, Ateneo forces deciding men's tie

ABS-CBN Sports on Apr 10, 2019 01:11 PM
UAAP Season 81 lawn tennis: NU reclaims women's throne
Clarice Patrimonio won her third UAAP women's tennis MVP award after leading the Lady Bulldogs their fifth title in six years (FILE photo).

National University claimed its fifth women's crown in the last six seasons with a 3-1 conquest of De La Salle University in the UAAP Season 81 lawn tennis tournament Tuesday at the Colegio de San Agustin courts in City of San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan.

The Lady Bulldogs completed a 2-0 sweep of the Finals series.

The second doubles tandem of Jzash Canja and Annie Tumanda completed NU's comeback in the women's throne after a one-year absence with a 6-2, 6-2 romp of Kiezel Diaz and Jenni Dizon.

The Lady Archers actually gained the upperhand as Angel Santiago took the first singles with 6-3, 6-1 conquest of Zam Dumlao, before Mae Bornia and Alliah Elline Tobias Ragunton made it 1-1 for the Lady Bulldogs with a 6-3, 6-4 first doubles win over Jed Vallie Rayne Aquino and Arianne Nillasca.

Clarice Patrimonio then put NU ahead with a 6-3, 6-1 triumph over Aubrey Calma in the second singles.

Patrimonio, the daughter of former PBA great Alvin, won her third season MVP award.

Shaira Rivera of this season's third placer Ateneo, was named the Rookie of the Year.

But the Bulldogs' bid for a golden double will have to wait for a few days, as Ateneo forced a winner-take-all with a 3-0 romp of the NU.

The deciding tie is set at 8 a.m. on Saturday.

Gab Tiamson completed the Blue Eagles' series-tying victory with a 6-7(1), 6-4, 6-3 decision over Jeremiah Latorre.

Marcen Gonzales scored a 6-4, 6-4 win over Allen Manlangit in the first singles and Ateneo took a 2-0 lead after Luke Flores and Erj Gatdula repulsed Jeric Accion and Justine Prulla 7-5, 6-4, in the first doubles.



Latest News