UAAP Season 81: UST, DLSU exit season on a winning note

Mark Escarlote on Apr 27, 2019 01:31 PM
UST, DLSU exit season on a winning note
University of Sto. Tomas closed its UAAP Season 81 campaign on Saturday on a winning note.

It may not be the ending they wanted but University of Sto. Tomas and De La Salle University closed their respective campaigns in the UAAP Season 81 men's volleyball tournament with their heads held up high on Saturday at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

The Tigers dismantled University of the East, 25-19, 25-15, 25-19, 25-23, to salvage some sense of pride.

Manuel Medina led four other UST players in double figures with 14 points highlighted by 11 attacks. Rookie Jaron Requinton finished with 13 markers built on 11 spikes, a kill block and an ace while graduating Jayvee Sumagaysay bid goodbye to his collegiate career with 12 points coming off five kills, four kill blocks and three aces for the Tigers, who exited the season with a 5-9 win-loss record.

Gem Corda got 12 points with five off kill blocks while Joshua Umandal registered 10 markers for the Espana-based squad, which landed at fifth spot.

Meanwhile, the Green Spikers survived a scare from University of the Philippines, 25-21, 25-21, 15-25, 23-25, 15-11, to finish at sixth place.

DLSU tied UST at 5-9 but the Tigers took the no. 5 spot by virtue of higher tiebreak.

Graduating skipper Cris Dumago closed his career as a Green Spiker with 23 points  off 18 attacks, three aces and two of DLSU's total of 12 kill blocks. Billie Anima had 22 points while Kiefer Reyes added 18 markers for the Taft-based squad, who rained down 66 spikes behind Wayne Marco's 32 excellent sets.

The Red Warriors fell to 2-12 slate while the Fighting Maroons had a disappointing season with a 1-13 card.

Geric Ortega was the lone UE player in double figures with 11 points while Kim Adriano and Lloyd Josafat combined for 18 markers.

John Mark Millete posted 23 points while graduating players Gian San Pascual and Jerry San Pedro got 18 and 14 markers, respectively, for the Maroons.

Follow this writer in Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News