UAAP Season 81: Bulldogs take top seed, win 13th straight

Mark Escarlote on Apr 28, 2019 12:39 PM
UAAP Season 81: Bulldogs take top seed, win 13th straight
Defending champion National University took the No. 1 seed in the Final Four after sweeping first round tormentor Far Eastern University.

Repeat-seeking National University won its 13th straight match and clinched the top seed in the Final Four after crushing Far Eastern University, 25-13, 25-23, 25-18, on Sunday at the end of the UAAP Season 81 men’s volleyball tournament elimination round at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

The Bulldogs exacted revenge on their first round tormentors in just 73 minutes for a 13-1 win-loss record and more importantly took the no. 1 seed with a twice-to-beat advantage in the semifinals against the fourth seeded squad Adamson University.

Rookie Angelo Almendras led the way for NU with 19 points off 16 attacks, two kill blocks and an ace with eight excellent receptions. Bryan Bagunas added 16 markers while James Natividad got 11 points for the Bulldogs, who had 45 attacks and nine kill blocks.

The No. 2 seed and twice-to-beat-armed Tamaraws fell to 11-3 card and will face Ateneo de Manila University in the Final Four.

Redijohn Paler was the only FEU player in double figures with 12 points with all but one coming off attacks while Jude Garcia had eight.

Meanwhile, the Blue Eagles landed at no. 3 spot after dismantling the Falcons, 25-23, 30-28, 25-19, in the curtain-raiser.

Ron Medalla led two other Ateneo players in double figures with 17 points – 16 off spikes. John Rivera got 16 points and 21 excellent receptions while Tony Koyfman finished with 14 markers for the Blue Eagles, who closed the elims with a 10-4 mark.

Adamson slid to the no. 4 spot with a 9-5 card.

George Labang fired 11 points for Falcons while Leo Miranda, Mark Alvarez and skipper Paolo Pablico scored eight each.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News