UAAP 82: Douanga's game-winner shouldn't have counted? Coach Jamike says so

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Sep 07, 2019 05:54 PM
Douanga's game-winner shouldn't count? Coach Jamike says so
(Photo by Arvin Lim)

National University was 1.4 seconds away from an upset of playoff hopeful Adamson University.

With the two teams going at it way into overtime, Dave Ildefonso already looked like he had lifted the Bulldogs to the well-earned win after willing a short stab over all of Simon Camacho, Aaron Flowers, and Lenda Douanga.

Still with 1.4 ticks to go on the clock, however, Douanga threw up a triple that swished through the net and saved the day for the Soaring Falcons.

According to NU head coach Jamike Jarin, though, that game-winner shouldn't have counted. "It was a clear five-second violation," he told reporters through chuckles post-game.

Coach Jamike then went on to share a video taken by the Bulldogs' coaching staff, showing Jerom Lastimosa taking more than five seconds to inbound the ball to Douanga who then proceeded to take and make the improbable three-point shot.

As per the Bulldogs' mentor, Lastimosa only inbounded the ball somewhere between five and six seconds - meaning, Adamson should have been called for a five-second violation. "Not to take anything from Douanga, those are the shots you can only dream of, but it was a clear five-second violation," he said.

As of now, though, NU is yet to decide whether or not to bring up their video to the league office.

Whatever it is, the Sampaloc-based squad made it clear that they have nothing but praise for the Soaring Falcons. "It was a great game for Adamson and us so props to them no matter what," Ildefonso said.

---

Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News