Ateneo backs back-to-back titles in UAAP 82 Women's Badminton

ABS-CBN Sports on Oct 05, 2019 05:02 PM
Ateneo backs back-to-back titles in UAAP Women's Badminton
(Photo courtesy of UAAP)

Geva De Vera and Chanelle Lunod delivered once more, completing a sweep of De La Salle, 3-0, to give Ateneo its second consecutive UAAP Women's Badminton championship, Saturday at the PNP Sports Center Badminton Courts.

The title is the Lady Eagles' fifth overall, tying them with arch-rivals Lady Shuttlers at second in total women's badminton championships. UP remains on top with nine crowns.

"Syempre, I am very, very happy. We did what we set out to do," Ateneo head coach Kennie Asuncion shared on winning the title. "Everybody covered for each other."

Lunod and De Vera had to fend off shaky starts in both games of the lone doubles match to eventually subdue Shaynne Boloron and Palma Cruz, 21-11, 21-15.

Ateneo earlier snared the first two singles matches to set up the clincher.

Lunod got back on opposing captain Iyah Sevilla with a crushing 21-14, 21-6 sweep in the first singles match. Rookie Mika De Guzman then sent the Lady Eagles on the verge of the throne after taking down Kanna Baba, 21-13, 21-18, in the following rubber.

De Vera and Lunod shared the Most Valuable Player honors for the second straight year while De Guzman was hailed with the Rookie of the Year award.

"For now, we will enjoy this (title). We will of course get back into it. Every year it gets harder, it gets challenging. But we will try our best to keep the title," said Asuncion.

Latest News