UAAP 82: UST repeats over NU, takes back-to-back Men's Table Tennis crowns

ABS-CBN Sports on Nov 21, 2019 02:03 PM
UAAP 82: UST takes back-to-back Men's Table Tennis crowns
(Photo courtesy of the UAAP)
University of Santo Tomas turned a heartbreaking loss into another championship, taking down rival National University, 2-1, in the best-of-three Finals, Wednesday at the Blue Eagle Gym.

This is the Tiger Paddlers' second straight championship and 28th overall.

Graduating senior Raymark Mabuang closed out both the second and third ties of the championship to gift the UST the record-setting plum.

The Thomasian standout took down Romualdo Ramiro Jr. in a match that ended at 12-10, before taking another four-set win over Louis Llamas in that final tie.

For his valiant stand, Mabuang was later adjudged the Most Valuable Player.

The doubles tandem of Mcleen Dizon and Prince Garcia was the difference in both the won ties as they turned it around with wins for the 2-1 leads for UST.

The Thomasians came back from a set down and swept Franz Mogol and Harold Celeridad after the break. They then dominated Jon Sinchongco and Celeridad in just three sets later that afternoon.

Long-time mentor Jackson Que was proud that his team came up with another championship. "Two months before the UAAP, talagang nagbago tayo ng lineup agad. So, nasira yung plan natin," he shared.

"Pero thank God, nabuo pa rin yung team at nagperform pa rin yung mga players."

UAAP Season 82 Women's Table Tennis release:
UST claws gallant Ateneo, roars to 13th UAAP Women's Table Tennis tiara

Heavily-favored University of Santo Tomas needed to fend off first-time finalist Ateneo in two gruelling ties to bag their 13th UAAP Women's Table Tennis title, Wednesday at the Blue Eagle Gym.

"Masaya kasi ang pinaka-aim ng UST is mag-champion both men's and women's. And the women's they did not let it go; fight pa rin sila kahit lamang na yung kalaban," said head coach Lorinda Wadjad.

And they needed to dig deep to outlast the Lady Eagles.

Tigress Paddler Danica Alburo turned back two match points from Lady Eagle Kathleene Bulaquena to eventually took the win for UST at 14-12 in the fifth set of the deciding singles match at the afternoon's tie.

Ateneo earlier threatened to extend the series as eventual-Rookie of the Year Kaela Aguilar and fellow newbie Ann Borbon put their squad up 2-0. Aguilar outlasted Sherlyn Gabisay in five sets, while Borbon edged out Ciara Derecho in four.

Nonetheless, Leigh Villanueva and Emery Digamon pulled through for the Tigresses in the doubles match at 12-10, 11-7, 5-11, 11-8, and set up the stage for a comeback for Shaeena Ronquillo and Alburo.

Ronquillo earlier denied Bulaquena in the morning's deciding singles match at 11-9 in the fifth game to take the 1-0 series lead for UST.

With her wins and more importantly her leadership, sophomore team captain Gabisay bagged the Most Valuable Player award.

"Pinag-aralan namin yung lineup na we could not just assign anybody [in order] to beat Ateneo," shared Wadjad about the clashes they had with Ateneo.

UAAP Season 82 High School Table Tennis release:
DLSZ stuns UST for HS table tennis golden double

De La Salle Zobel's boys and girls teamshad to overcome the odds to shock University of Santo Tomas and snare a double championship in the UAAP Season 82 High School Table Tennis Tournament, Wednesday at the Blue Eagle Gym in Quezon City.

"We want to regain that championship talaga. Sa dami ng pinaghirapan namin, sa dami ng downs and ups, sa wakas nakuha din namin ngayon," said DLSZ head coach Alfonso Glorioso Jr, who also steered the school to a double championship back in Season 78.

The Junior Lady Green Paddlers turned back a twice-to-win disadvantage and swept the Junior Tigresses in the championship round. La Salle actually just needed six matches to clinch the tiara.

The duo of Shiela Bautista and Vianne Depierda shook off Reshma Bagongon and Jane Dela Cruz in the doubles match to eventually take the crown for La Salle.

Angelou Laude, who was hailed as the Most Valuable Player, paced the Green Paddlers with two dominant wins in both Finals ties. She took down Louese Allavado at 17-15, 11-6, 11-8, before opening the afternoon's encounter against Angelica Etrata, 11-6, 11-6, 11-7.

Rookie of the Year Chrishiem Santillan also swept her assignments of the series to complete the sweep for UST.

On the other hand, the Junior Green Paddlers stopped UST's run this season at eight and turned a 0-1 series deficit to take the crown.

Dino Marcelo dominated the final frame of the deciding singles match of the final tie at 11-3 to complete Zobel's golden double, which they also did in 2015.

For his efforts throughout the season, and starting off all of the championship ties for La Salle with wins, Elijah Yamson was named the MVP.

The graduating senior swept his three assignments, but none bigger than the three-set thriller win over Gerard Dayahan to put his squad up 1-0 in the all-or-nothing third tie.

Henze Lucero from UST took the top rookie plum.

Latest News