UAAP Season 82: NU begins three-peat bid

Mark Escarlote on Mar 04, 2020 08:55 AM
UAAP Season 82: NU begins three-peat bid
All eyes will be on setter Owa Retamar as he tries to steer National University to a third straight title. (File photo)

Two-time defending champion National University faces an early challenge in its bid to retain its stranglehold of the throne on Wednesday in a clash with University of Sto. Tomas in the UAAP Season 82 men’s volleyball tournament at the MOA Arena.

Game time is at 9:00 a.m. and will air live on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23, ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166, LIGA SkyCable Channel 86, LIGA HD SkyCable Channel 183, iWant and via livestream.

All eyes are on the Bulldogs as they try to win it all for the third straight time despite the departure of seniors and national team members Season 81 Most Valuable Player Bryan Bagunas, Kim Malabunga and Francis Saura after their last year’s conquest.

Returning for another tour of duty for NU are PHI team standouts sophomore setter Owa Retamar and libero Ricky Marcos, who with head coach Dante Alinsunurin wrote history by winning the silver medal in the 30th Southeast Asian Games, together with James Natividad and Nico Almendras.

Also out to make an impact for the Bulldogs is Edward Camposano, who is returning to action after a two-year absence following his transfer from University of the East. Camposano, also a former national team member, will play in his first and last year as a Bulldog.

But the Golden Spikers are sure to give NU a tough fight led by PHI team member Jau Umandal, Wewe Medina and the debuting Genesis Redido.

Meanwhile, facing off at 2:00 p.m. are Ateneo de Manila University and University of the Philippines.

The Blue Eagles are raring to get another crack at the crown after falling short of advancing to the Finals last season for the first time in six years.

Back to banner Ateneo are Chu Njigha, Ron Medalla, Gian Glorioso and Manuel Sumanguid.

The Fighting Maroons, on the other hand, are on a mission to cultivate a winning culture after a forgettable outing last year.

Leading UP are veterans Mac Millete and John Mark Castillo.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News