UAAP's last decade dominated by back-to-back MVPs

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Apr 27, 2020 04:55 PM
UAAP's last decade dominated by back-to-back MVPs
La Salle's Ben Mbala is the only player to win a championship and an MVP in the same season in the last decade

Three players have hoisted the MVP trophy in back-to-back seasons in the last decade of UAAP Men's Basketball.

That means that 60 percent of the top individual player awards in the past 10 years are owned by just three names.

Ben Mbala's 2016 remains the best of the best among the bunch as not only did he average a dominant double-double of a league-best 20.6 points and a league-best 16.2 rebounds on top of a league-best 2.4 blocks as well as 1.4 steals and 1.2 assists, he also delivered a dominant 15-1 title to De La Salle University.

The Cameroonian powerhouse had an encore next year as he normed a double-double of 26.0 points and 13.1 rebounds to go along with 2.5 blocks, 1.3 assists, and 1.3 steals, but fell just short of a second straight championship no thanks to Ateneo de Manila University.

The Blue Eagles have a back-to-back MVP of their own in Kiefer Ravena in 2014 and 2015.

Neither of Ravena's plums, however, came with a championship as those were won by National University and Far Eastern University, respectively in those years.

Make no mistake, though, he was a key cog in the latter part of Ateneo's five-peat in his first three seasons.

Also falling shy of a team title is Bulldogs' superstar Ray Parks Jr. who was the top individual player in 2011 and 2012.

The Filipino-American laid the groundwork for the blue and gold's return to relevance as they slowly but surely climbed to contention.

And in the first year in the post-Parks Jr. era, National U, at long last, broke through and bagged its first championship since 1954.

The Tamaraws, meanwhile, also have two MVPs in the last decade, but those were won by different players in RR Garcia (2010) and Terrence Romeo (2013)

Neither won a team title as well, whether it be before, during, or after their seasons as top individual players.

Finally, the league's last two MVPs had seasons to remember for their respective schools.

In 2018, Bright Akhuetie became the University of the Philippines' first top individual player since Eric Altamirano in 1986.

A year later, Soulemane Chabi Yo brought back the trophy to University of Sto. Tomas - the first one to do so since Dylan Ababou in 2009.

Breaking it down school-by-school, La Salle, Ateneo, National U, and FEU each have two MVP trophies while UP and UST have one apiece.

Ken Bono was Adamson University's last MVP in 2006 while University of the East last won the MVP with James Yap in 2003.

Here is the full list of UAAP MVPs in the last decade:

2010 - RR Garcia, G, FEU

2011 - Ray Parks Jr., G, National U

2012 - Ray Parks Jr., G, National U

2013 - Terrence Romeo, G, FEU

2014 - Kiefer Ravena, G, Ateneo

2015 - Kiefer Ravena, G, Ateneo

2016 - Ben Mbala, C, La Salle

2017 - Ben Mbala, C, La Salle

2018 - Bright Akhuetie, C, UP

2019 - Soulemane Chabi Yo, F, UST


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News