ON THIS DAY: Lady Spikers reclaim UAAP volleyball crown

Mark Escarlote on Apr 30, 2020 01:58 PM
 ON THIS DAY: Lady Spikers reclaim UAAP volleyball crown
(Photo: Arvin Lim)

On this day, April 30, four years ago, De La Salle University reclaimed the UAAP women’s volleyball crown in a dramatic Season 78 Finals Game 3 victory over the Alyssa Valdez-led Ateneo de Manila University.

It was the Lady Spikers’ third attempt to snatch the title back after the Lady Eagles conquered the previous two seasons.

Four days before, Ateneo behind Valdez’s 34-point explosion salvaged Game 2 in five sets via come-from-behind fashion.

A 22,848-strong crowd rocked the Big Dome on April 30, 2016 to witness the climax of the championship series.

Valdez, who was on her last playing year, and the Lady Eagles riding the crest of their Game 2 win came out smoking in the opening frame and drew first blood.

DLSU was quick to regroup in the next set to tie the match.

Sensing the shift of momentum, the Lady Spikers went on to win the last two frames to finally exact revenge on their Finals tormentors the past two years, 19-25, 25-21, 25-16, 25-16.

Then third year players Kim Kianna Dy and Majoy Baron displayed their readiness to take on the leadership role for the Lady Spikers with inspired games as they finished with 17 and 11 points, respectively. Dy was named Finals MVP.

The win also served as a sweet parting gift to key outgoing seniors, Ara Galang, Mika Reyes and Cyd Demecillo. The trio closed their collegiate careers with nine points each.   

Valdez ended her flight as the Queen Eagle with 31 points in a lost cause.

Watch the series-decider here.

Latest News