BATCH CLASH: DLSU Season 75 team vs. DLSU Season 80 squad

Mark Escarlote on May 20, 2020 08:33 AM
BATCH CLASH: DLSU Season 75 team vs. DLSU Season 80 squad
Which Lady Spikers batch that completed the grand slam in the past decade shines brighter?

De La Salle University takes pride in its tried and tested system under head coach Ramil De Jesus.

With a collection of 11 UAAP titles in two decades including three grand slams, the Lady Spikers’ volleyball program is arguably this generation’s finest.

We can’t argue about the greatness of De Jesus.

From the recruitment of potential players for his team to polishing raw talents and eventually making those pieces fit and work in his system, De Jesus is a master.

Looking back at the last 10 seasons, De Jesus steered two distinct batches of Lady Spikers to a pair of three-peats with just two seasons in between them.

But which batch of Lady Spikers who completed the grand slam shines brighter?

We pit DLSU’s Season 75 squad against the Lady Spikers of Season 80 in a showdown based on five categories (net defense, offense, floor defense, level of competition, court presence).

To make this more exciting, we’ll lay down the stats and comparisons for you and we’ll let you decide which team is better.

Just post your answers in the comments section.



Ever since DLSU dominated the competition, the Lady Spikers have taken pride in their talented middles.

Towering sentinels at the net have given DLSU great advantage both on defense and in transitioning to offense.

The Season 75 batch had Aby Marano and Mika Reyes.

They occupied the top two spots in blocking that year. Marano averaged 0.92 kill blocks per set while Reyes normed with 0.79.

When we talk about net defense, Batch 75 was pretty solid.

Spiker Ara Galang averaged 0.50 kill blocks while Michele Gumabao had 0.48 kill blocks per frame as they occupied and sixth and eight spots in the category.

Overall, Batch 75 dominated the net with 3.21 kill blocks a set even better than the then towering Dindin Santiago and Cai Nepomuceno-led National University (2.75).

On the other hand, Batch 80 was as deadly as the previous three-peat batch.

Batch 80 boasts of talented middles in Majoy Baron and Aduke Ogunsanya.

Baron averaged 0.66 kill blocks a set while Ogunsanya had 21 kill blocks overall in the elimination round.

Kim Kianna Dy normed with 0.51 kill blocks per frame.

Overall, Batch 80 was second in blocking with 2.19 kill blocks per set slightly behind Ateneo’s 2.52.



Ara Galang was the scoring leader of Batch 75. Batch 80 had Kim Kianna Dy as its main offensive weapon.

In the elims, Galang collected 176 points with 32.92% success rate in attacks compared to Dy, who put up 187 markers with 31.87% kill rate.

Galang had Aby Marano (35.85% success rate in attacks), Mika Reyes, Michele Gumabao and Wensh Tiu to back her up.

Dy, on the other hand, had Majoy Baron, Tin Tiamzon and Desiree Cheng for support.

As a team, Batch 75 posted 32.22% success rate in attacks while Batch 80 had 29.53%.

Both squads also made a living at the service line.

Batch 80 landed an average of 2.72 aces per set. Batch 75 normed with 2.08.

Three Batch 75 players were in the Top 10 in the service department in Reyes (0.42), Kim Fajardo (0.40) and Galang (0.38).

However, Batch 80 had four players in the category. Cheng and Michelle Cobb averaged 0.66 and 0.58 aces per frame, respectively, to occupy the top two spots while Baron (0.43) and Dy (0.42) were included in the Top 10 list.

Setters also played a key role for both teams’ success.

In Batch 75, Fajardo and Mika Esperanza shared the playmaking role for DLSU. The then freshman Fajardo tossed 4.54 excellent sets per frame while Esperanza had an average of 3.90. And as a team, Batch 75 excelled in playmaking with 8.63 excellent sets per frame.

While Batch 75 had two setters rotating on duty, the then sophomore Cobb got most of the playing time.

She averaged 8.32 excellent sets per frame as DLSU topped the category that season with 9.42 average per set.



This is a showdown between two of the finest liberos in the UAAP.

Mel Gohing of Batch 75 was on her last playing year, same for Batch 80’s Dawn Macandili. Gohing on her swan song made life easy for her setters, so did Macandili.

Gohing posted 27.76% efficiency in reception and had an average of 2.31 digs per set. Macandili got better numbers with 6.34 digs per set and 52.31% efficiency in receives.

Gohing had Galang to back her up in digs with 1.98 digs per set while Macandili was supported by Cheng in reception (33.93%).

However, Batch 80 was the better team in floor defense with 15.28 digs per set and 36.94% efficiency in reception compared to Batch 75’s 9.27 digs per set and 18.95%.



University of Sto. Tomas, Ateneo and Far Eastern University gave both DLSU batches a hard time during their respective three-peat runs.

The Season 73-75 grand slam batch had the likes of Tigresses legends Aiza Maizo, Rhea Dimaculangan, Maru Banaticla, Maika Ortiz and Judy Ann Caballejo; the Lady Eagles’ Fab 5 of Dzi Gervacio, Fille Cainglet, Jem Ferrer, A Nacachi and Gretchen Ho plus a young Alyssa Valdez and Denden Lazaro; a newly-transferred Dindin Santiago, powerhitter Myla Pablo and Cai Nepomuceno of NU and Bang Pineda, Pau Soriano and Mayette Zapanta of Adamson University as rivals.

FEU had Rosemarie Vargas, Wenneth Eulalio, Gyzele Sy and Tin Agno; UP’s Kathy Bersola, Jay Ong, Nicole Tiamzon and Pia Gaiser while University of the East had Leuseht Dawis and Sarina Bulan.

The Season 78-80 DLSU batch also faced an equally formidable field in their three-year reign.

They dethroned an Ateneo squad in the last year of Valdez but also had to contend with Jho Maraguinot, Kat Tolentino, Bea De Leon, Maddie Madayag, Jia Morado and Michelle Morente in the next two seasons.

FEU, which Batch 80 swept in the championship series, had a solid lineup in Bernadeth Pons, Jerrili Malabanan, Toni Basas and Celine Domingo.

They also squared off during their run against a UST squad led by Sisi Rondina, EJ Laure, Mela Tunay, Jessey De Leon, Pam Lastimosa and Milena Alessandrini; NU’s Jaja Santiago, Myla Pablo, Risa Sato, Roselyn Doria; the Jema Galanza, Eli Soyud, Amanda Villanueva and Mylene Paat-bannered Adamson; UP’s Nicole Tiamzon, Kathy Bersola, Tots Carlos and Isa Molde and UE’s Shaya Adorador, Judith Abil, Mean Mendrez and libero Kath Arado.     



No other team in the UAAP can match with DLSU’s signature swag.

So, why not pit Batch 75 and Batch 80?

You got the Beast Mode Queen Aby Marano, the pre-Miss Globe Michele Gumabao, Mika Reyes, Ara Galang and Mel Gohing in Batch 75's side.

Batch 80 got the gunslinging Des Cheng, Michelle Cobb, Majoy Baron, Kim Kianna Dy and Tin Tiamzon.    

Who do you think will get under who’s skin?

Aside from their on-court psywar tactic, both batches displayed composure and confidence throughout their respective three-peat-clinching runs.

Batch 75 opened their season with a stinging loss to UST but was quick to recover, winning their next 16 games to claim the championship.

Batch 80 was no different.

After receiving a ‘pambarangay’ rant from coach Ramil De Jesus, the Lady Spikers of Season 80 won all of their next 11 games including a clean sweep of FEU in the Finals.



Again, that's for you to decide.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News