Ravena, Daos receive top honors as Ateneo athletes

Mark Escarlote on May 29, 2020 11:16 AM
Ravena, Daos receive top honors as Ateneo athletes
Ateneo de Manila swimmer Chloe Daos and basketball star Thirdy Ravena were honored as GUIDON-Moro Lorenzo Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year on Thursday.

For their outstanding performance in the short-lived UAAP Season 82 tournament, basketball star Thirdy Ravena and swimming sensation Chloe Daos were feted with the GUIDON-Moro Lorenzo top honors on Thursday.

The three-time champion Ravena was named Sportsman of the Year while Daos received her second Sportswoman of the Year award.

Ravena became the first basketball player to win the coveted award since former Blue Eagle Nonoy Baclao copped the recognition in 2010 together with judoka JR Reyes.

The 23-year-old cager was a part of the Gilas Pilipinas team during the 2019 FIBA World Cup Asian Qualifiers.

Ravena would then steer the Blue Eagles to an immaculate 16-0 sweep in Ateneo’s grand slam run. He capped his colorful collegiate caree by becoming the first-ever three-time Finals MVP in men’s basketball in the 82-year history of the league.

Daos, who won the award back in 2018 during her rookie year, also bagged the Ambrosio Padilla Athlete of the Year.

The 20-year-ol tanker continued make waves in the UAAP pool by winning all seven of her events during the four-day meet last October to increase her collegiate tally to 21 golds.

To cap her dominating season, Daos broke the five year-record of fellow Moro Lorenzo awardee Hannah Dato by clocking in 2:19.03 in the 200m Butterfly event to shatter the previous record of 2:19.71.

Other nominees for the Sportsman of the Year were reigning two-time UAAP backstroke king Aki Cariño and UAAP men's fencing foil individual event gold medalist Jaime Viceo.

The two other finalists for the Sportswoman award were UAAP women's badminton co-Finals MVPs Geva De Vera and Chanelle Lunod.

Daos also bested Romina Gavino and reigning two-time men’s judo middleweight champ Bernie Margulie for the Ambrosio Padilla Athlete of the Year.

The crowing of the GUIDON-Moro Lorenzo and Ambrosio Padilla Athletes of the Year citation is a yearly event that is part of the Loyola Schools Awards for Leadership and Service.

The Moro Lorenzo citations recognize athletes "who have shown excellence and utmost dedication in their sport."

The Ambrosio Padilla award, on the other hand, goes to athletes who exemplify the ideals of the late senator which is ‘mens sana in corpore sano’.

Latest News