UAAP 2nd sem athletes celebrated as UST claims general title anew

Norman Lee Benjamin Riego on Jul 25, 2020 05:04 PM
UAAP 2nd sem athletes celebrated; UST claims general title
(Photo courtesy of UAAP)

For the fourth year in a row, there is no movement at the mountaintop of the UAAP.

University of Sto. Tomas has been hailed as General Champion for the Srs. Tournaments once more as it ran away with the crown with 209 total points.

The Growling Tigers were officially recognized as such in the Season 82 closing ceremony held online Saturday.

They built their overall win on gold medals in men's and women's beach volleyball, men's and women's table tennis, and men's judo.

All that was more than enough to grant them a more than 30-point lead over runner-up De La Salle University.

And all that was more than enough to notch the 44th mark in Srs. General Championships for the black and gold.

UST's high school was not going to be outdone as well as it rode its 159 total points all the way to the mountaintop of the Jrs. Tournaments.

On the back of wins in boys' and girls' swimming, boys' baseball, boys' judo, and boys' taekwondo, the Tiger Cubs got the better of second-placer La Salle Zobel for their sixth straight Jrs. General Championship.

Meanwhile, student-athletes whose campaigns were cut short by the continuing COVID-19 crisis were recognized in the event shown on ABS-CBN Sports' online platforms.

Those include competitors in athletics, baseball, football, indoor volleyball, lawn tennis softball, and track and field which were all set to go, or even already underway, before the pandemic forced all second semester sports to end earlier than expected.

That was exactly why the UAAP went out of its way to still give these student-athletes their shine.

Even better for so-called super seniors from those second semester sports, the league has already reportedly discussed and deliberated the proposed one-year extension of their eligibility.

According to outgoing president Em Fernandez, the proposal is just awaiting the approval of the league's Board of Trustees.

That means that student-athletes such as Arlyn Bautista from Adamson University softball, Jho Maraguinot and Kat Tolentino from Ateneo de Manila University women's volleyball, Diego Lozano from De La Salle University men's baseball, Ricky Marcos from National University men's volleyball, and Miggy Clarino from the University of the Philippines' men's football have an option to play out their last year of eligibility next season instead.

Next season will see De La Salle University taking over hosting duties from Ateneo.

The formal passing of the hosting of baton officially wrapped up UAAP Season 83.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @riegogogo.

Latest News