Micek and Soriano win third BVR leg in Boracay

Paul Lintag on Apr 28, 2016 09:41 PM
Micek and Soriano win third BVR leg in Boracay
Charo Soriano and Alexa Micek win another leg in BVR on Tour.

In the end, the biggest stars won the biggest leg.

Beach Volleyball Republic saw a familiar tandem win again as Charo Soriano and Alexa Micek took the Boracay leg of the BVR on Tour Thursday.

Soriano and Micek beat team Airforce, Judy Caballejo and Coyah Abanto, 21-15, 21-16 in the finals at the Pearl of the Pacific beachfront to win the tour's biggest leg to date.

The veteran tandem were at the top of their game in their fifth finals appearance in six legs so far, dominating the previously undefeated Air Force team.

Soriano and Micek got their third leg win with the sweep.

"It wasn't so easy, they [Caballejo and Abanto] were serving very hard on us but I think we adjusted well to that," Soriano said.

"They are both very tough, we played them both before. They all have strenghts in different aspects of the game. I think in the finals today we were able to control on our side more," Micek added as they score their third leg final win over Caballejo and Abanto.

Soriano and Micek took the hard way of getting to their fifth leg final, beating Jennifer Cosas and Apple Saraum in the Final Four after three sets.

Cosas and Saraum previously beat Soriano and Micek in the preliminary round with another three-set affair.

Team Air Force also took the long way in advancing to their third leg final.

Despite going undefeated, one of Caballejo and Abanto's wins came via a comeback victory over leg 4 champions Bea Tan and Fio Ceballos in the semis, 16-21, 21-13, 16-14.

Air Force overcame an 11-14 deficit in set 3.

Aside from the title of champion, Soriano and Micek also pocketed 70,000 pesos in cash as the winners while Caballejo and Abanto took home 50,000 pesos.

The BVR on tour will have one more leg before going back to Manila next month for their National Championship.

Coverage of the BVR on Tour in Boracay will be broadcasted on May 1, Sunday at ABS-CBN Sports and Action channel 23 and ABS-CBN Sports and Action HD channel 166.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News