V-League Collegiate Conference opens July 30

Mark Escarlote on Jul 21, 2016 02:25 PM
V-League Collegiate Conference opens July 30
The 13th V-League Collegiate Conference opens on July 30 with 10 teams competing for the crown.

School teams test their mettle before they campaign in their respective collegiate leagues when V-League opens its second conference in their 13th season starting July 30.

Ten of the best women's varsity volleyball teams slug it out for glory and supremacy in the Collegiate Conference led by repeat-seeking National University Lady Bulldogs.

The 10 teams were bracketed into two groups drawn Thursday at Shakey’s Malate.

The Lady Bulldogs with the help of guest player Dindin Santiago-Manabat and the troika of Myla Pablo, 6-foot-5 Jaja Santiago and Jorelle Singh under then newly-appointed head coach Roger Gorayeb won the crown last year by defeating the Ateneo de Manila Lady Eagles in three games.

NU is expected to face tough competition this time with an early match with UAAP Season 78 runner-up Ateneo, NCAA runner-up San Sebastian College-Recoletos and Technological Institute of the Philippines and Perpetual Help.  

The Lady Bulldogs will also parade a younger team this time after the graduation of most of their core including Pablo, who won the Open Conference Finals MVP award for Pocari Sweat last week.        

NCAA Season 91 champion College of St. Benilde, UAAP Final Four finishers Far Eastern U, San Beda, University of Sto. Tomas and University of the Philippines are bunched in Group B.

Matches will air live over ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23, ABS-CBN Sports+Action HD Channel 166 and via livestream on sports.abs-cbn.com/livestream/vleague.

Game days are Monday, Wednesday and Saturday.

Each group will go through a single round robin eliminations where the top three teams in each bracket will advance in the quarterfinals.

The six qualified teams will play one round provided that they will no longer play the teams in their preliminary round groupings. The win-loss records of the teams in the prelims will be carried over in the quarters.

The best four teams of the quarters will qualify for the Final Four.

Teams ranked 1 and 4 will face off in a best-of-three series same as the teams no. 2 and 3.

The Finals will be a best-of-three affair.

Players eligible to play are those who participated in their previous collegiate league contest, freshmen that are already enrolled and transferees that have completed their residency. Teams are allowed to have two guest players including those who are still in their residency period.  

Meanwhile, 12 teams joined the 2nd edition of Spikers’ Turf Collegiate Conference with reigning titlist and UAAP back-to-back champion Ateneo de Manila gunning for a repeat.

The Blue Eagles are in Group B with NCAA runner-up Emilio Aguinaldo College, San Beda College, UP, UST, National College of Business and Arts.

Bunched in Group A are NCAA champion University of Perpetual Help, NU, CSB, FEU, De La Salle and Philippine Merchant Marine School.

Each group will go on a round robin elims to determine the top two squads that will advance in the crossover best-of-three series.

The Finals is a race-to-two affair.        




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News