Ateneo to field Valdez as regular player in V-League Collegiate Conference

Mark Escarlote on Jul 21, 2016 05:40 PM
Valdez to power Ateneo in V-League Collegiate Conference
Alyssa Valdez will once again take flight for the Ateneo de Manila Lady Eagles.

Three-time UAAP Most Valuable Player Alyssa Valdez for the last time will don the Ateneo de Manila uniform in the 13th V-League as the Lady Eagles attempt to capture the Collegiate Conference title set to open on July 30 at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City.

Valdez according to Ateneo team manager Tony Boy Liao is suiting up as a regular player for the last time in the 10-team field tournament that serves as a gauge for squad’s heading into their respective collegiate leagues.

“Ang rule kasi natin dito sa collegiate (conference) if you are a regular player last season pwede ka pang maglaro pero that will be your last time. So regular pa rin siya (Valdez) hanggang ngayon,” said Liao, also the V-League commissioner.

The 23-year-old Valdez will get another shot at the collegiate crown which she and the Lady Eagles failed to win last year, losing in Game 3 of the best-of-three Finals against National University.

Valdez played for BaliPure in the Open Conference and finished third. She and Ateneo won bronze in the recently-concluded ASEAN University Games in Singapore last week.

Players eligible to play are those who participated in their previous collegiate league contest, freshmen that are already enrolled and transferees that have completed their residency. Teams are allowed a maximum of 18 players including two guest players.   

The Lady Eagles, runner up to De La Salle Lady Spikers in the UAAP Season 78 after a two-year reign, in the drawing of lots held Thursday at Shakey’s Malate are in Group A with NU, NCAA runner up San Sebastian College-Recoletos and Technological Institute of the Philippines and Perpetual Help.  

NCAA Season 91 champion College of St. Benilde, UAAP Final Four finishers Far Eastern U, San Beda, University of Sto. Tomas and University of the Philippines are bunched in Group B.

Final team rosters are expected to be submitted to the league Thursday.

Each group will go through a single round robin eliminations where the top three teams in each bracket will advance in the quarterfinals.

The six qualified teams will play one round provided that they will no longer play the teams in their preliminary round groupings. The win-loss records of the teams in the prelims will be carried over in the quarters.

The best four teams of the quarters will qualify in the Final Four.

Teams ranked 1 and 4 will face off in a best-of-three series same as the teams no. 2 and 3.

Finals is a best-of-three affair.

Matches will air live over ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23, ABS-CBN Sports+Action HD Channel 166 and via livestream on


Latest News