UP, San Beda open V-League Collegiate Conference action

Mark Escarlote on Jul 29, 2016 11:57 PM
UP,  San Beda open V-League Collegiate Conference action
University of the Philippines open its campaign against San Beda.

University of the Philippines and San Beda College kick off the hostilities in the 13th V-League Collegiate Conference on Saturday at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City.

Action starts at 4:00 p.m. with the Lady Maroons, who are coming off a sixth place finish in the Open Conference, testing the mettle of newcomer Lady Red Spikers in Group B of the preliminary round. 

The game will air live over ABS-CBN Sports+Action Channel 23, ABS-CBN Sports+Action HD Channel 166 and via livestream on sports.abs-cbn.com/livestream/vleague.

UP will parade the same lineup they fielded in the Open Conference, hoping to surpass its sixth place finish in the same tournament last season.

Top young guns Isa Molde, Justine Dorog and Diana Carlos with veterans Nicole Tiamzon and Season 12 Reinforced Conference and Season 13 Open Conference Best Blocker Kathy Bersola will again be the players to watch for the Lady Maroons, who in the last UAAP season returned to the Final Four after 13 years.

UP is also looking to build their confidence as the Diliman-based squad gear up for the 79th UAAP tournament.

The Lady Red Spikers, meanwhile, make their debut in the league hoping to start on the right foot as the Mendiola-based NCAA team battle the rising power of the UAAP.

San Beda, seventh in the 91st NCAA tournament, tapped Wenneth Eulalio and alumna Janine Marciano, who played for BaliPure in the Open Conference.

Marciano will skip the opening game because of a prior commitment abroad. Nieza Viray and Darrel Racraquin need to step up big time to help Eulalio on the offensive end.

The 10 participating teams are divided in to two brackets with NCAA Season 91 champion College of St. Benilde, Far Eastern U, San Beda, University of Sto. Tomas and UP bunched in Group B. In Group A are the defending champion National University, San Sebastian, Ateneo de Manila, Perpetual Help and Technological Institute of the Philippines.

Each group will go through a single round robin eliminations where the top three teams in each bracket will advance in the quarterfinals.

The six qualified teams will play one round provided that they will no longer play the teams in their preliminary round groupings. The win-loss records of the teams in the prelims will be carried over in the quarters.

The best four teams of the quarters will qualify for the Final Four which is a best-of-three series. The Finals is also a best-of-three affair.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles


Latest News