Guzman and Arbasto back at it again as BVR heads to Dagupan

Guzman and Arbasto back at it again as BVR heads to Dagupan
Kris Roy Guzman and Anthony Arbasto is the pair to beat as BVR heads to Dagupan for its second leg of 2017. (BVR on Facebook)

Beach volleyball season continues as the Beach Volleyball Republic is set to take on its second leg for 2017 this weekend.

After stopping at Cabugao Beach last month, BVR is staying up north and will be visiting Dagupan, Pangasinan next, bringing in 20 competing pairs for the two-day joust.

Fresh from winning gold at the Paraw Regatta Beach Volleyball Tournament in Iloilo City, stakeholders Bea Tan and Dzi Gervacio put their new tandem to the test again as they headline a 10-team field in the women's division.

Joining them as BVR's representatives is former Adamson Lady Falcon Amanda Villanueva and Rapril Aguilar. Also in contention are Pocari Sweat's Melissa Gohing and Fille Cainglet-Cayetano as well as Airforce's Coyah Abanto and Jocemer Tapic.

Rounding out the women's division are SWU's Therese Rae Ramas and Floremel Rodriguez, UST's Cecilia Bangad and Kassi Gormley, Coastguard's Pia Sarmiento and Bien Juanillo. Former UE Lady Warrior Leuseht Dawis is teaming up with Dawn Dizon while Jonafer San Pedro will compete alongside Regielyn Cabrera. Jessa Aranda and Alarnie Pesebre complete the cast.

Over at the men's division, Cabugao Beach and UAAP Season 79 champions KR Guzman and Anthony Arbasto are back for another go.

Those looking to deny them of yet another title include fellow Tigers Romnick Rico and Lester Yee as well as FEU's Ralph Dablo and Joshua Barrica. Another pair of Tamaraws in Kevin Hadlocon and Jeremiah Barrica are also in the mix.

The Roldan Medino/Kurt Rosete pair will represent Navy together with the tandem of Milover Parcon and Razzel Palisoc. The Army is also in this leg with the Randy Fallorina/Michael Reyes pair seeing action alongside Jason Uy and Joel Villonson. SWU's Mark Petancio and Lemuel Arreza and Holy Cross Davao's Calvin Sarte and Kim Abian complete the men's bracket.

The champions of the Dagupan leg will take home a prize of P35,000 each and will earn a free trip to BVR's next leg at Negros Occidental next month.

The Dagupan leg of BVR 2017 is set for Feb. 25-26 at Tondaligan Beach and will be live via pay-per-view on



Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News