NCAA MVP De Guzman leads national men's team roster

Mark Escarlote on Mar 14, 2017 02:22 PM
NCAA MVP De Guzman leads national men's team roster
NCAA Most Valuable Player Johnvic De Guzman of College of St. Benilde gets another shot to don the national colors.

NCAA Most Valuable Player Johnvic De Guzman of College of St. Benilde and former National University stalwart Peter Torres headlined the 25-man national men’s volleyball team pool announced by Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. Tuesday during the Philippine Sportswriters Association Forum.

De Guzman, who recently led the Blazers to its first-ever NCAA crown, and Torres are on their way to a possible second straight Southeast Asian Games appearance if selected for the Final 12 that will campaign in the biennial meet in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from August 19 to 31.

Both hitters suited up for the national team back in 2015 in Singapore.

Head coach Sammy Acaylar revealed the names of his pool in the weekly sports progam held at the Golden Phoenix Hotel in Pasay City where he was joined by LVPI officials Joey Romasanta and Peter Cayco and women’s team head coach Francis Vicente.

The mentor, who was part of the coaching staff of the men’s team that last bagged a medal finish (bronze) back in 1993, said that he selected players that joined the tryouts in Manila, Cebu and Davao.    

“Hindi ako nag-handpick ng mga players. Lahat ng kinuha ko nag-tryout,” said Acaylar, who mentioned that he’s willing to add other collegiate players in the lineup including three-time UAAP MVP Marck Espejo of Ateneo de Manila. 

Included in the list were setters Mark Deximo of CSB, Perpetual Help’s Relan Taneo, University of San Carlos-Cebu’s John Kenneth Sarcena and Geuel Asia of De La Salle; opposite hitter Rey Taneo of Perpetual; outside hitters RanRan Abdilla and former two-time NCAA MVP Howard Mojica of Philippine Air Force, Southwestern University’s Dave Cabaron and Cignal’s Lorenzo Capate, DLSU-Dasma’s Eddiemar Kasim, Perpetual Esmail Kasim and FEU’s Peter Quiel.

The middles in the roster were Bonjomar Castel of Cignal, Reyson Fuentes of Air Force, Herschel Ramos of Meralco, John Paul Bugaoan, John Carascal of SWU-Cebu, Jeff Malabanan of Air Force and Anjo Pertiera of Mapua.        

Louwie Chaves, Jack Kalingking of Perpetual and Erickson Ramos of Meralco round up the list as the pool’s liberos.

Training starts Wednesday.





Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles      

Latest News