Tan and Villanueva win BVR leg; UST golden pair champs anew

Tan and Villanueva win BVR leg; UST golden pair champs anew
Bea Tan wins another BVR on Tour leg, this time with Amanda Villanueva. (BVR)

The big boys are back.

There has been an ongoing rivalry in the BVR on Tour this year as reigning UAAP champions KR Guzman and Anthony Arbasto of UST have engaged FEU's Jeremiah Barrica and Kevin Hadlocon for beach supremacy.

In two legs this year, the pair of Tigers have come out on top. The Tamaraw duo has also managed to win a leg this year but Guzman and Arbasto were nowhere to be found at Lakawon Island last month.

This time around at Kahuna Beach, a proper new chapter of this rivalry unfolded and it looked like Barrica and Hadlocon finally had the golden opportunity to stop UST's golden pair.

It didn't happen.

Guzman and Arbasto overcame a twice-to-beat disadvantage in the La Union final of BVR on Tour over the weekend, winning their third leg overall against their FEU rivals.

The UST tandem first took a 21-18, 21-17 win to set up a winner-take-all. In the sudden death final, Guzman and Arbasto won that too, 21-15, 21-19, to win another P30,000 on top of their new championship.

Bacolod's Jonmar Aguillon and Ralph Savellano won third.

In the women's division, a familiar face likewise returned to win her third leg out of four tries as Bea Tan partnered with Amanda Villanueva to capture the La Union title.

Tan and Villanueva also erased a twice-to-beat disadvantage in the final, beating Dzi Gervacio and Rapril Aguilar, 21-13, 21-16 in Game 1 before cruising to a 21-10, 21-13 victory in the sudden death.

It was Tan's third win this year with three different partners.

Kasi Gormley, who won at Lakawon Island with Gervacio, settle for third this time around with Cecilia Bangad.

With La Union over and done with, BVR on Tour will have a quick turnaround with Leg 5 happening on April 22-23 at Anguib Beach in Sta. Ana, Cagayan.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News