LVPI to trim nat'l men's, women's pool to 18 on Friday

LVPI to trim nat'l men's, women's pool to 18 on Friday
Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. and the coaching staff of the men's and women's volleyball teams will trim down the national pool to 18 on Friday.

The pool of players that will make the Philippine women’s and men’s volleyball squads to the 29th SEA Games in August will be reduced to 18 on Friday.

Peter Cayco, acting president of the Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. (LVPI), on Tuesday said the coaching staff led by Francis Vicente is ready to announce the cut. 

After a series of tryouts, the LVPI has named 25 female and 21 male players to the pool last March 14, and had placed the players under scrutiny.

The players have been practicing hard since the pools were formed. 

Cayco said the players were given a break in practice Tuesday, and the next two sessions will determine who will move on in the selection process.

“The names will be submitted to the Kuala Lumpur SEA Games organizers and will be trimmed down to the Final 12 on the last day allowed by the organizers,” said Cayco. 

“Tomorrow (Wednesday) and Thursday (practice sessions) will be very crucial. Then on Thursday night coaches will meet to decide on the lineup to be announced on Friday afternoon,” he said. 

The announcement will be made at the Arellano Gym at 2:00 p.m. on Friday.

Cayco, who graced the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Forum at the Golden Phoenix Hotel along with LVPI president Jose Romasanta, stressed there are no shoo-ins to the team.

“The coaches devised a point system that will help them decide who makes it to the team for the SEA Games and the Asian Women’s Senior Championship in August,” he added in the session presented by San Miguel Corp., Golden Phoenix Hotel, Accel, and the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp. 

Alyssa Valdez and Mika Reyes head the women’s roster that includes Kim Fajardo, Jaja Santiago, Lourdes Clemente, Den Den Lazaro, Rachel Anne Daquis, Maika Ortiz, Din Din Manabat, Rhea Dimaculangan, Aiza Pontillas, Ria Meneses, Myla Pablo, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Maddie Madayag, Kat Tolentino, Kim Dy, Dawn Macandili, Genevieve Casugod, Bia General, Roselle Baliton, Kathleen Arado, Elaine Kasilag, Abigail Marano and Gretchel Soltones. 

In the men’s pool being handled by coach Sammy Acaylar are Mark Deximo, Relan Taneo, John Kenneth Sarcena, Geuel Asia, Rey Taneo, John Vic de Guzman, Alnakran Abdilla, Howard Mojica, Mark Alfafara, Dave Cabaron, Peter Torres, Lorenzo Capate, Bonjomar Castel, Reyson Fuentes, Herschel Ramos, Louwie Chaves, Jack Kalingking, John Paul Bugaoan, John Carascal, Eddiemar Kasim and Esmail Kasim.

The Clash of Heroes match last Monday that featured both squads will also play a part in the selection process, and Cayco said the absence of some of the big names in the women’s side only gave the others the chance to step up and prove their worth. 

“There were players that stepped up in their absence and it gave the coaching staff new insights on certain players,” said Cayco.


Latest News