Ateneo and DLSU continue rivalry in Battle of the Rivals

Mark Escarlote on Jun 05, 2017 02:26 PM
Ateneo and DLSU continue rivalry in Battle of the Rivals
Ateneo de Manila Lady Eagles stars and De La Salle Lady Spikers standouts meet once again in a charity game.

Former and current players of UAAP powerhouse teams Ateneo de Manila University and De La Salle University relive their storied rivalry in a benefit match ‘Battle of the Rivals’ on July 16 at the SM Mall of Asia.

Superstar Alyssa Valdez will once again don a blue and white jersey to lead the Lady Eagles in a one-game battle for pride, charity and fun against the green and white-clad Lady Spikers spearheaded by national team captain Mika Reyes.

Sponsored by avid volleyball supporter Rebisco, the event aims to raise funds for the scholarship programs of the Ateneo de Manila University Foundation, De La Salle University Foundation and the Rebisco Foundation, Inc.

Fans will get to witness the Ateneo-DLSU rivalry, which for the last six years entertained and drew large following in their intense and thrilling UAAP women’s volleyball championship showdowns.

And everyone can expect the same action when the two teams collide.

“I think it's natural for all of us na maging competitive,” said former DLSU libero and UAAP Season 71 Rookie of the Year Melissa Gohing. “Everybody should expect na we'll be competitive but fun at the same time.”

Something ex-Ateneo defense specialist Denden Lazaro reiterated.

“Like what Mel said, we're all very competitive, but at the same time we're gonna have fun with it. It's for the fans, it’s for the schools and the future student-athletes of the universities,” she said. “Marami sa amin graduate na sa UAAP. Matagal na kaming di naglalaro sa UAAP so we miss the rivalry ng Ateneo and La Salle, so magiging intense pa rin siya.”

“Paghahandaan namin kayo,” Lazaro added.

Joining the former three-time UAAP Most Valuable player Valdez and Lazaro are Jia Morado, Ella De Jesus, and Amy Ahomiro, the core of the Lady Eagles squad that won back-to-back titles in Season 76 and 77. Current players Jho Maraguinot, Bea De Leon, Michelle Morente, Maddie Madayag and Fab 5 member Fille Cainglet-Cayetano are also part of the selection to be coached by Tai Bundit.

Reyes, a three-time UAAP champion, and Gohing will have best buds Kim Fajardo, former Finals MVPs Cha Cruz and Michele Gumabao, Aby Marano, Chie Saet, Cyd Demecillo, Stephanie Mercado and Ara Galang. Ten-time UAAP champion coach Ramil de Jesus will call the shot in the mini reunion of his former wards.

The match will air on ABS-CBN S+A on July 23.

Tickets for the event are available via and all SM ticket outlets. Ticket prices are P1,500 (Lower Box A/B), P750 (Upper A), P500 (Upper B), P150 (General Admission).

Availability of the tickets will be announced within the week.




Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles


Latest News