Ateneo, La Salle clash in Battle of the Rivals

Mark Escarlote on Jul 16, 2017 09:25 AM
Ateneo, La Salle clash in Battle of the Rivals
Witness another exciting Ateneo-De La Salle women's volleyball showdown in the 'Battle of the Rivals' benefit match Sunday.

Ateneo de Manila University and De La Salle University rekindle their storied rivalry as former and current players of the two proud schools clash in the ‘Battle of the Rivals’ benefit match on Sunday at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

Superstar Alyssa Valdez will once again don a blue and white jersey to lead the Lady Eagles in a one-game battle for pride, charity and fun against the green and white-clad Lady Spikers spearheaded by national team captain Mika Reyes.

Fans will get to witness the Ateneo-DLSU rivalry, which for the last six years entertained and drew large following in their intense and thrilling UAAP women’s volleyball championship showdowns, once again.

Relive the excitement, intensity and drama as the match unfolds at 4:00 p.m.

The event, which aims to raise funds for the scholarship programs of the Ateneo de Manila University Foundation, De La Salle University Foundation and the Rebisco Foundation, Inc., will also feature a tune-up match between the Philippine National team and Macau at 1:30 p.m.

At 3:00 p.m. there will be a service, spike and dig skills challenge before the main feature.

Joining the former three-time UAAP Most Valuable player Valdez are libero Denden Lazaro, setter Jia Morado, Ella De Jesus, and Amy Ahomiro, the core of the Lady Eagles squad that won back-to-back titles in Season 76 and 77. Current players Jho Maraguinot, Bea De Leon, Michelle Morente, Maddie Madayag and Fab 5 member Fille Cainglet-Cayetano are also part of the selection to be coached by Tai Bundit.

Reyes, a three-time UAAP champion, best buds Kim Fajardo, former Finals MVPs Cha Cruz and Michele Gumabao, Aby Marano, Chie Saet, Cyd Demecillo, Stephanie Mercado, Mel Gohing and Ara Galang. Ten-time UAAP champion coach Ramil de Jesus will call the shot in the mini reunion of his former wards.

The match will air July 22 at 6:00 p.m. on ABS-CBN S+A Channel 23 and ABS-CBN S+A HD Channel 166.

Latest News