BVR ready to go for 2017 National Championships

Paul Lintag on Jul 27, 2017 08:18 PM
BVR ready to go for 2017 National Championships
Defending national champion Bea Tan will go for back-to-back while KR Guzman would like to cap a dominant 2017 Tour with a national championship. (BVR)

Things are about to get serious in the Beach Volleyball Republic.

After seven action-packed legs, the 2017 BVR on Tour culminates at Anguib Beach in Cagayan for the National Championship and there's some legit prizes at stake here, not just bragging rights.

[Related: BVR on Tour 2017 recap]

The title of being "National Champion" and the cash and other goodies that goes along with it is nice and all but BVR's second national tournament ever is also an official qualifier for the Southeast Asian Beach Volleyball Games later this year in Singapore.

That's right, the winners in Cagayan will be part of the Philippines national team pool for the ASEAN joust.

[Related: SEA Games pool slots on the line in BVR National Championships]

14 women's teams will compete at Anguib led by Team Perlas featuring defending champion Bea Tan and Mich Morente.

Tan, with Fiola Ceballos, won the first BVR National Championship last year at MOA Sands.

Iloilo's Jacquelyn Estoquia and DM Demontano will lead the list of challengers in Cagayan while UST's Jinggay Bangad and Caitlyn Viray will also have a say for this year's outcome.

Competeling the cast for the women's division are Tagum-PNP's Cassandra Ledda and Jessa Tano, RTU 1's Jonalyn Rosal and Maciejczk Candido, RTU 2's Myla Lim and Ciarmin Pahalang, SWU's Dij Rodriguez and Terang Ramas, UNO-R's Erjane Magdato and Alexa Polidario, Perpetual's Marijo Medalla and Aurora Tipoli, San Beda's Viray twins, Batangas' Aira Pineza and Marjolyn Delos Reyes, Cagayan's Mara Salde and Kristine Aldea, and finally, Tuguegarao's Riza Guzman and Mariafe Salagan.

In the men's division, which should be ultra-competitive, reigning BVR King of Sands KR Guzman leads the way together with Krung Arbasto.

The two Tiger Spikers domianted the early parto of the 2017 tour, winning three of the first four legs.

FEU's Jeremiah Barrica and Kevin Hadlocon should also be heavily-considered for the title as the pair of Tamaraws went head-to-head with UST's golden pair, winning two legs themselves.

A third favorite in Cagayan should be the team of Rommel Pepito and Jade Becaldo. The Cebuano hotshots starred in the final part of the tour, capturing the last two legs prior to Anguib Beach.

Rounding out the stacked men's division are Navy's Roldan Medino and Ardie Pajiji, NU's Ismail Fauzi and James Natividad, FEU 2's Jude Garcia and Richard Solis, USLS's Herold Parcia and Neil De Pedro, UST 2's Ian Lester Yee and Romnick Rico, RTU 1's Antonio Torres and Peter Paul Galvan, RTU 2's Carlo Sebastian and Reymond Balag, Ateneo's Abay Lenos and Basti Cuerva, Dipolog's Joshua Barrica and Ralph Dablo, Perpetual's Jhay Solamillo and Gilbert Balmores, Bohol's Alexander Pelino and Fortunato Libres, and Batangas' Ervin Moraga and Steven Santos.

The 2017 BVR National Championships will run from July 28-30 at Anguib Beach in Sta. Ana, Cagayan.

S+A and S+A HD will air the 2017 BVR National Championships on August 14, Monday at 2:30 p.m. with a replay on August 20, Sunday at 2:30 p.m.


Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8

Latest News