Valdez, Santiago, Galang lead nat'l team aspirants

Mark Escarlote on Apr 12, 2018 10:43 AM
Valdez, Santiago, Galang lead nat'l team aspirants
Alyssa Valdez, Jaja Santiago and Ara Galang banner the list of names invited to join the national women's volleyball team tryout.

Stars Jaja Santiago, Alyssa Valdez and Ara Galang banner the list of players invited to join the national women’s volleyball team tryout set by the Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. (LVPI) on Friday at the Arellano University gym Legarda campus.

The three are among the biggest names in the 34-woman list expected to heed the call for chance to represent the country in the 18th Jakarta Asian Games in August and the AVC Asian Cup in September.

The 6-foot-5 Santiago and the former three-time UAAP Most Valuable Player Valdez are tipped to go all out to retain their spots in the national team in the tryout set to begin at 5:00 p.m. Galang, a product of De La Salle University now playing for F2 Logistics, will try her luck to join the national squad for the first time.

Also in the list of invited players are last year’s team captain Mika Reyes and setter Kim Fajardo, who are both looking to make another stint with the national squad.

LVPI vice president Peter Cayco said that the selection process will be supervised by the new national team head coach, and that some of the players invited were specifically picked by the tactician in his ‘wish list’.

Included in the list are Philippine Superliga players Rhea Dimaculangan and Frances Molina of Petron; Maika Ortiz, Dindin Santiago-Manabat and CJ Rosario of Foton; Cha Cruz-Behag, Aby Marano and Lourdes Clemente of F2 Logistics; Rachel Anne Daquis, Royse Tubino of Cignal and MJ Philips of Sta. Lucia Realty.

Coming from the Premier Volleyball League are Jia Morado and Melissa Gohing of Creamline and Pocari Sweat's Myla Pablo and Elaine Kasilag.

Rounding up list are UAAP stars reigning UAAP MVP Mary Joy Baron, lasy year's national team members Kim Dy and Dawn Macandili of De La Salle University; Tots Carlos and Isa Molde of University of the Philippines; Bea de Leon, Maddie Madayag and Jho Maraguinot of Ateneo de Manila University; Kath Arado of University of the East, Jasmine Nabor of National University; Mylene Paat of Adamson University; Sisi Rondina of University of Sto. Tomas; and the Far Eastern University duo of Bernadeth Pons and Kyla Atienza.



Follow this writer on Twitter, @fromtheriles

Latest News