BDL to make debut for the Tornadoes

ABS-CBN Sports on Jun 22, 2018 07:15 PM
BDL to make debut for the Tornadoes
Bea De Leon will make her debut for Foton against seasoned team F2 Logistics.

Games Saturday:

(Araneta Coliseum)

3:00 pm – Opening Ceremonies

4:00 pm – Generika-Ayala vs UA-UP

6:00 pm – Foton vs F2 Logistics


Former Ateneo de Manila University star Bea De Leon makes her debut under the Foton banner when the Tornandoes open their campaign in the Chooks to Go-Philippine Superliga (PSL) Invitational Conference Saturday at the Big Dome.

De Leon, a 5-foot-11 former national team member, will join a loaded frontline composed of Jaja Santiago, Dindin Manabat, CJ Rosario, Maika Ortiz and Gen Casugod, making the Tornadoes the league’s tallest squad.

Two of the early favorites, the Cargo Movers and Tornadoes take the floor at 6:00 p.m. main game.

United Auctioneers-University of the Philippines (UA-UP), meanwhile, makes its much-anticipated debut when it tangles with Generika-Ayala in the first match at 4:00 p.m.

Prior to that, an Indonesian-inspired opening ceremony will usher in the start of this mid-season conference.

Unfortunately for the Lady Maroons, star spiker Tots Carlos will miss the rest of the conference after sustaining a shin injury that needs at least eight weeks to recover.  

UA-UP head coach Godfrey Okumu, Carlos’ absence will open things up for the Ayel Estranero and Jessma Ramos, who will play their first club league outside the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP), while Isa Molde can now display her talent after getting limited minutes with Foton in the previous Grand Prix.

“We were given a special chance to play in this league,” he said. “I have a very young team, but it’s a good team, a very strong team. We’re here to gain experience and share what we have with other teams. So we might be a very surprising team.”

But all eyes will be on the super showdown between F2 Logistics and Foton.

The Cargo Movers will parade the core of UAAP champion De La Salle University led by Kianna Dy, Dawn Macandili, Majoy Baron, Michelle Cobb, Desiree Cheng and Tin Tiamzon while veterans Aby Marano, Kim Fajardo, Ara Galang and Cha Cruz will return for another tour of duty.

Latest News